Bhavas (House)

12, Bhavas (house) in INDIAN Astrology

Twelve bhavas Indian in astrology or house describe your life that also has twelve areas. Each of the 12 astrological houses has its own ruling planet, meaning and associated zodiac sign. The chart of the twelve houses in astrology begins with Aries and ends with Pisces. The beginning of each house in astrology is called cusp and the 12 houses in horoscope runs in a clockwise direction.

Division of house

Dharma houses:        1, 5, and 9

Artha houses:            2, 6, and 10

Kama houses:           3, 7, and 11

Moksha houses:         4, 8, and 12.

12, houses in Indian astrology

House 1st 5th and 9th houses are the houses of prosperities and are called Trikonas or trine houses or Lakshmi sthanas. These are very powerful houses.

Kendra’s / The Center or quadrants in which comes the 1st, 4th, 7th, and 10th houses. These are also very powerful.

House of growth that includes 3rd and 11th houses are called Upachayas (shadow).

Gray houses or House of Justice comes the 6th, 8th, and 12 houses.

conjunction of planets.

Sometimes in one house two or more planets are present which is called conjunction of planets. Presence of planet in 12 houses in Vedic astrology can give benefic or malefic results.

12 Vedic astrological houses and their planetary rulers.


House   Zodiac       Sign Ruling Planet of House  House



            House significances








House of Self

Owner’s House

1st house is also called the ascendant or rising sign (Lagna). This house rules the physical appearance, your temperament, health, your reactions towards other, self-image and body type and your appearance are projected in the first house.







House of Wealth, prosperity.

2nd house represents your material side that includes money, property, siblings and belongings. Any gain or loss as well as financial conditions are also depicted here. Overall your inner and outer resources are described in this house of horoscope.







House of Communications

3rd house represent your rational thoughts, early education, communication, research, skills, and mind is ruled by this house. The third house in the twelve houses in astrology symbolizes your interaction with the community, neighbors, at work, with siblings and all.







House of Home, Mother and Pleasures


4th houses rules domestic affairs, home and family. It also includes the nurturing parents. If you have more planets in this house then you will be an introvert, subjective and a very private person








House of Competition, Romance and Progeny

5th house is house of pleasure and it depicts our need for love. Recreational and leisure activities are there in this house. It symbolizes love affairs, creative self-expression, your children and luck.







House of Health, Enemy and Diseases

6th house ruled by Routine tasks this include your work at office, work environment, employers and your employees. It also rules the health issues and hygiene. It can unite us with others and also separate us.







House of Partnerships and Marriage

7th house is also called Descendent. Any kind of partnership is ruled by this house and in this comes the marriage, treaties, business partnership, and agreements. More the number of planets in this house more are the needs we look for. You can also have more than one marriage.










House of Reincarnation, Death and Accidents


8th house defines our attitude towards life and death. Also the sexual relationships, deep relationships, finances come under the influence of this house. Many planets in this house depicts the change. So you will require change in relationship











House of Philosophy, Fate and Fortune


9th house Ethical understanding, higher education, religious understanding, long journeys and foreign countries. If you have many planets in this house then you may not agree with the conventional limits in which you were raised.








House of Social Status


10th house in horoscope rules the social position, career and work. Worldly standing is also associated with this house in astrology.











House of Casual Gains and Income


11th house represent Social circle, friends, groups, memberships in organizations and societies are ruled by this house. If you have too many planets in this house then you will have a large group of friends and you need them every time.








House of Losses and Expenses


12th house in astrology determines the hidden things, secrets, prison, sorrows, betrayals, and fears. It is the house of Karma.

Quadrant System

According to quadrant system all the 12 planets are categorized into three houses namely Angular, Succedent and Candent. The planets in Angular are stronger and planets in Cadent are weaker in influence.

Angular: 1st House (Aries), 4th House (Cancer), 7th House (Libra), 10th House (Capricorn) 

Succedent: 2nd House (Taurus), 5th House (Leo), 8th House (Scorpio), 11th House (Aquarius) 

Cadent: 3rd House(Gemini), 6th House (Virgo), 9th House (Sagittarius), 12th House (Pisces)

Calculator for Lagna and Bhava or 12 astrological houses

× How can I help you?